Calyx – Moving through the Shadows

Posted on 24 April, 2007. Filed under: beats, Dance music, DJ, DnB, Drum&Bass, Drum'n'Bass, Electronic Music, Electronic Music Artists / DJs, Electronic Music Genres, Music, Music Genre, Techno |

If you were hanging around the drum’n’bass scene around 05-06, you more than likely heard a couple of songs by Calyx. If you were listening to the darker sounds in drum’n’bass, it’s even MORE likely that you heard some of his tunes.

Personally, I love the stuff this guy (Larry Cons) has been putting out. I don’t think I have found one song I don’t like. Sure some are better than others, but on a whole, it’s a hearty two thumbs up from me.

What I love even MORE though, is Moving Shadow. They are one of the record labels that have truly done a massive favour for the drum’n’bass and jungle collective. What I’m talking about are their MS sampler series. It is through these that I have discovered numerous new (and fantastic) drum’n’bass artists and been able revisit old ones. What makes them even better is that they’re SO CHEAP!! On average, you pay around AU$12 per CD, and they are top quality production-wise.

It was through MS05.2 that I came across Calyx. At the moment, I would say this album is one of my all time drum’n’bass favourites. It’s got everything I love about drum’n’bass in it. The sexy rhythms, the dark deep and grumbly bass lines, the occasional vocals, the industrial grunt that is still smooth and groovable. GAH! I’m gonna need a cold shower soon.

Track Details: Calyx – Tearing Us Apart

If you like that, try: Corrupt Souls – Trioxin
Or have a go of: Future Prophecies – Concrete Combat

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • For all your electronic music qualms and queries!

    Come inside, have a look around!

    The aim of this space is to create a (relatively) comprehensive framework for electronic music - its development and evolution.

    I hope YOU will contribute with questions, random bits of info and opinions.

  • Stuck for a style? Let me know!
  • Have I missed something? Add it in!
  • Does my opinion seem completely warped? Flip it 'round!
  • Basically, in the words of a very wise and noble group of artists...

    "EVERY BODY DANCE NOW!!!"

  • Twitten’ On

  • Operation: Evolution of Electronic Music

  • Liked it here?
    Why not try sites on the blogroll...

