Electronic Music Genre (R)Evolution

Posted on 23 March, 2007. Filed under: Dance music, Electronic Music, Electronic Music Genres, Music, Music Genre |

I have been listening to electronic music for as long as I can remember. The first CD single I ever laid my hands on was Guru Josh – Infinity (which I realise came out yonks after the likes of The Orb etc etc). I know I’m showing my (young) age when I say this, but I used to groove to the likes of Euphoria and Heaven 17 during my early primary school days.

I used to plough my way through my parents old records, listening to jazz-fusion groups like Focus, who were part of a wave of artists beginning to introduce synth and electronic sound manipulation to their music.

In my mind, the late 80s to the late 90s were THE decade for electronic music. Sure, we had musicians such as Kraftwerk, Brian Eno, Vangelis, Mike Oldfield and Jean Michel Jarre, who popularised the sound of electronic music, appearing around the 1970’s. And I in no way disagree with that.

But it was in the late 80’s and early 90’s that we started to see the likes of The Prodigy, Orbital and Underworld bubbling up from the raving underground. This was my style of music and, in my opinion, music that laid the foundations for the absolute plethora of genres we have today.

Anyone who has seen the growth and diversification of electronic music over the last 20 or so years has witnessed one of the most amazing evolutions in musical history. The development of the synthesizer and, indeed, the creation of electronically manipulated sound itself was a revolution. An event that spawned a whole new aural experience for the world at large; an event that I will always be grateful for.

Thank you Mr Moog.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “Electronic Music Genre (R)Evolution”

RSS Feed for Kickin’ back with Kate Comments RSS Feed

I stand here today humbled by the task before [url=http://www.bawwgt.com]dofus kamas[/url], grateful for the trust you have bestowed, mindful of the sacrifices borne by our [url=http://www.bawwgt.com]cheap dofus kamas[/url]. I thank President [url=http://www.bawwgt.com]dofus power leveling[/url] for his service to [url=http://www.bawwgt.com]buy dofus kamas[/url], as well as the generosity and cooperation he has shown throughout this transition.


Where's The Comment Form?

  • For all your electronic music qualms and queries!

    Come inside, have a look around!

    The aim of this space is to create a (relatively) comprehensive framework for electronic music - its development and evolution.

    I hope YOU will contribute with questions, random bits of info and opinions.

  • Stuck for a style? Let me know!
  • Have I missed something? Add it in!
  • Does my opinion seem completely warped? Flip it 'round!
  • Basically, in the words of a very wise and noble group of artists...

    "EVERY BODY DANCE NOW!!!"

  • Twitten’ On

  • Operation: Evolution of Electronic Music

  • Liked it here?
    Why not try sites on the blogroll...

